Affirmations: Blessing Others

When I am feeling overwhelmed by my addiction, worried about my future or caught up in the mistakes and hurts of my past, I am likely to feel shame and inadequacy.  I have a hard time believing that I am worth anything to others. I see only what is wrong, and I feel small and helpless. Why would anyone want me around? How can I possibly be a vessel of goodness, when I can’t even take care of myself?

That kind of thinking is a lie. No one is all bad or completely hopeless. When we wallow in negativity, we lose sight of the precious gift God has designed each of us to be, and the little ways we bless others each day. We get into a vicious cycle of negative thinking to negative action to more negative thinking. Focusing on the good that God is doing in and through us, though, turns us around and has us traverse the cycle positively. Positive focus leads to positive actions, which fosters more positive focus.

Today, I’m going to leave you with some open-ended affirmations which you can tailor to your truth, as well as some simple, universal ones. I hope you are blessed in them today.

I am a precious child of God.

I was designed from conception to be a blessing to others.

Even in my weakness, I can be a vessel for good.

My past troubles can give comfort and healing to others.

I choose to be a blessing to others today.

My prayers for others are powerful.

I show love and compassion through my words and actions.

I demonstrate(d) that I am a good listener when I ________________

I demonstrate(d) that I am loving when ___________________

I was/am a vessel of hope when ____________________

My hurts can help others when I _______________________

I show grace and mercy when _______________________ 

There is evidence of my usefulness when ____________________

I am gentle with myself and others.

I am focused on progress, not perfection.

God’s grace is sufficient for me.

Join the discussion

